Nuked
Welcome, Guest
December 22, 2014, 10:07:00 AM
News: Visit our Store for Pagan Books, Wiccan Jewelry and Magical Supplies! http://wicca.com/stores/entrance.html
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Career Vs. Religion  (Read 726 times)

Edorion

• Oak
  • Honor thy Mother
Career Vs. Religion
« on: October 10, 2012, 03:30:14 PM »

Serious question. Though I'm currently unemployed, I'm a roughneck by trade. Meaning that I work on a drilling rig to extract oil and gas from the earth. Is this in contradiction with the wiccan religion?
Isis: Great Mother of the World. Queen of the Heavens. She whose names are infinite in number.

We all come from the Goddess. And to Her we shall return. Like a drop of rain. Flowing back to the ocean.

lucifer

• Ash
Re: Career Vs. Religion
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2012, 03:47:00 PM »

Serious question. Though I'm currently unemployed, I'm a roughneck by trade. Meaning that I work on a drilling rig to extract oil and gas from the earth. Is this in contradiction with the wiccan religion?
Destroying the Earth and plundering her resources to make a dollar would probably be something that the Lady and Lord would frown upon...

The problem with these sort of operations is that they tend to do a huge amount of polluting, which to some degree ... well, pollute the air and then get cancer when you breathe? Pollute the water and then get sick when you drink.

However, Wicca doesn't specifically forbid or ban anything - the catch is that you will find yourself buried under the consequences of certain things that you do... And if not in this lifetime, likely in the next (and if you don't believe in reincarnation, think about your children [or potential children])

::EDIT::