Welcome, Guest
September 20, 2018, 07:10:55 AM
News: Visit our Store for Pagan Books, Wiccan Jewelry and Magical Supplies! http://wicca.com/stores/entrance.html
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: From the forests to the .. desert?  (Read 3872 times)

Carbon

• Holly
From the forests to the .. desert?
« on: October 30, 2010, 03:53:03 AM »

Well I just found out I have to move.  Being an unemployed college student I'm sort of stuck with moving with the parents across country (given the 2-3 week notice wont allow me to get a job and move out).  I'm moving from Washington (state) to Phoenix, Az.

Now I know that living in a desert does not mean I can't still practice. It just seems like the entire city is.. well .. dead.  I enjoy the green and walking in the woods.  Its apart of who I am now.  The trees that I've become attached to aren't going to be really accessible and the closest thing will be a cactus  :-\.  Rivers and creeks I used to walk along are going to be replace with irrigation canals.

I'm not trying to say that a cactus isn't apart of nature but I've just never felt a spiritual attachment towards them.   Sorry if I seem like I'm overreacting but it just feels like everything will be stripped away when I move.  How do people 'connect' with nature in the desert?  Is there something I'm overlooking that I was unaware of from my previous time in the desert?

Like I said I'm not trying to discredit the desert as being apart of nature but it all seems so ... dead..

Can anyone offer me any insight to perhaps make me look forward to living in the desert for the next few years til I'm done with school and can move out of it?

Hjolmaer

Re: From the forests to the .. desert?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 07:45:19 AM »

You would be amazed at just how much life exists in the desert.