Welcome, Guest
July 19, 2019, 09:37:27 AM
News: Visit our Store for Pagan Books, Wiccan Jewelry and Magical Supplies! http://wicca.com/stores/entrance.html
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Total newbie here.  (Read 1389 times)

Subcreator

• Meṁber
  • Elm
  • "Everything you know is wrong." -- Weird Al
Total newbie here.
« on: March 03, 2014, 08:45:44 PM »

Hi, I'm Tom. You can call me Subcreator or Tom.

I'm actually pretty nervous joining the forum. I haven't studied Wicca at all, and that's actually why I'm here. I want to learn more about it. I'm a thirty-year-old crazy cat guy with two adorable rescues, a long-haired calico named Binky and an orange and white spitfire named Carly. (There's also a long-haired black and white named Tabitha who comes around when the weather gets bad.) My wife and I live in Arkansas, and here's where things get interesting.

I'm coming out of the Christian traditions, and that's where most of my nervousness comes from. I won't get into it all here, but suffice it to say that, while I love the tenet of "love your neighbor", Christianity has not held enough answers for me. I've simply seen too much to ignore that there is more to the spiritual world than what I was always taught.

I'm also an aspiring fantasy novelist. In fact, the name Subcreator comes from Tolkien's idea of subcreation in the form of fantasy worlds. My almost fundamentalist family cared for fantasy a little more than they cared for my constant curiosity about points of theology.